Friday, May 6, 2011


President Museveni due to be swear on 12th May 2011 for what would be the 6th Presidential term given that terms in office are 5 years in Uganda.

The framers of the Uganda 1995 Constitution borrowed much from the United States Constitution to the extent that the country should not have a Prime Minister which is President Museveni's creation; but also the time from the declaration of a winner in the Presidential elections is a time-lag not less then 2 months as is the case of America. What has happened in the time prior to the swearing of President Museveni is an eye opener such that this time should be made as short as possible if possible two weeks. A sitting government can completely disorganize the country in that given the frustration of leaving power, the country's reserves are likely to be the 1st victim. If the time lag among other things is to allow the outgoing leader time to finalise affairs, and allow the incoming leader to make any administrative changes. They have to choose a cabinet, they will have a new team...there's a lot of work involved in the transition, there is need to have a review so that the leader who is moving out stays for as short as possible. The in-coming leader has really good time during the campaign time to make the line up for those he wants to work with.
William Kituuka Kiwanuka

The President of Uganda is recognized as the Head of the State as well as head of the government under the framework of a presidential republic. The President of Uganda is elected by popular vote to a five-year term. The administrative setup involves a pluriform multi-party system headed by the President himself. The executive power, however, is invested with the government and legislative power lies with both the government and the national assembly with the system functioning as a parliamentary democracy on the whole.

The office of the President of Uganda was originally instituted in 1962 by British as colonial rulers of the state. The British Queen Elizabeth II served as the the Queen of Uganda from October 1962 to October 1963. The position of the President of Uganda was first held by Sir Frederick Edward Muteesa II from 1962 to 1966. At this point of time most of the powers to make major decisions were invested with the Prime Minister of the State. However, after Milton Obote assumed the office of the President of Uganda in 1966, the Ugandan constitution was suspended and he became both the president and prime minister of the state. This change transformed office of the President of Uganda into the most powerful position in the state. A list of the Presidents of Uganda with their respective term is given below:

# Sir Frederick Edward Muteesa II 9 October 1962 - 2 March 1966
# Milton Obote 15 April 1966 - 25 January 1971
# Field Marshal Idi Amin Dada 25 January 1971 - 13 April 1979
# Prof. Yusuf Kironde Lule 13 April 1979 - 20 June 1979
# Godfrey Lukongwa Binaisa 20 June 1979 - 11 May 1980
# Milton Obote 17 December 1980 - 27 July 1985
# General Yoweri Kaguta Museveni 26 January 1986 - Present

No comments:

Post a Comment